If your POS runs on an iPad or Android tablet, skip this page: the touch screen is already built in. A separate touch monitor only matters for systems that run on a computer, such as Lightspeed Retail in a browser, Tabin on Windows or Hike on a PC. For those, a commercial touch monitor starts at about NZ$1,180 incl. GST in NZ, and 15" is a popular counter size.

Which POS systems need a separate touch screen

POSRuns on a computer?
Lightspeed (Retail X-Series)Yes. Runs in "up-to-date web browsers like Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox" on Windows or Mac, as well as on iPad.
TabinYes. Runs on "Windows terminals" as well as iPad and Android.
HikeYes. Supports printers, scanners and drawers "on PC, Mac and iPad".
LazygridRuns on an iMac (M1 or newer) as a fixed station, but Lazygrid doesn't say anything about touch on an iMac.
Shopify POSNo. "It's not available for laptop or desktop computers, or Amazon Fire tablets."
BustleNo. The till app is iPad only.
LoyverseNo. iOS and Android only.

Read our Lightspeed review · Read our Tabin review · Read our Hike review

Resistive or capacitive

The old version of this guide said resistive screens were best for "dirt and grease" and capacitive ones were sharper but didn't work with a stylus. That's broadly still the story, with one more technology in the mix. Elo publishes a comparison chart of its three main types:

  • Resistive (Elo calls it AccuTouch). Elo gives it its top rating for resisting liquids and contaminants, and it works with a finger, glove, stylus or even a credit card. The trade-offs: single touch only, and lower scratch resistance. A good fit for kitchens, bakeries and anywhere hands are greasy or gloved.
  • Surface acoustic wave (IntelliTouch). Top marks for scratch resistance, and it works with gloves and a stylus. Elo rates it limited for liquids and contaminants on the screen.
  • Projected capacitive (PCAP, TouchPro). Multi-touch (up to 16 touches) and top scratch resistance. Elo rates it limited for gloves and styluses, and it won't work with a credit card or similar. Watch the names: Elo's "IntelliTouch Pro" (on the 1502L, for example) is projected capacitive, not surface acoustic wave like plain IntelliTouch.

You'll see these names in NZ shop listings: POS Central sells ELO models labelled "Resist", "AccuTouch", "IntelliTouch" and "iTouch". If your staff wear gloves, or the screen sits next to a coffee machine, start with resistive.

Size and mounting

The old guide covered 10" to 17" screens. In 2026, NZ sellers list POS touch monitors in 15", 17", 19" and 22" sizes, plus large open-frame screens. Fifteen inches is a popular counter size: several ELO models and the Posiflex all-in-one below are 15".

The old advice on mounting still holds. A monitor on a stand or a VESA wall or pole mount frees up counter space. Check the monitor's stand tilts enough for staff of different heights.

What touch monitors cost in NZ

POS Central's prices, read on 5 October 2026, all including GST:

MonitorTouch typePrice
Posiflex 17" USB touch monitorResistiveNZ$1,179.00
FEC AM-1022C3 22" touch monitorNot statedNZ$1,290.00
ELO 1517L 15"ResistiveNZ$1,699.00
ELO 1515L 15"AccuTouch (resistive)NZ$1,699.00
ELO 1502L 15"IntelliTouch Pro (projected capacitive)NZ$1,699.00
ELO 2201L 22"IntelliTouch (listed as "Intell")NZ$1,699.00
ELO 2201L 22"IntelliTouch (listed as "iTouch")NZ$1,779.00

These are commercial POS monitors. If you're tempted by a cheaper consumer touch monitor, check that its warranty covers commercial use.

Touch monitor or all-in-one?

A touch monitor needs a computer behind it. An all-in-one puts the computer inside the screen. For comparison, Tillman lists a Posiflex 15" all-in-one with Windows 11 installed at $1,795.00 (on sale, was $1,995.00; GST not stated), recommended for Lightspeed X-Series on Windows 11. That's in the same range as a 15" ELO monitor on its own (NZ$1,699 incl. GST), though Tillman doesn't say whether its price includes GST.

If you don't already have a suitable PC at the counter, an all-in-one is often the tidier buy. Our POS computers guide covers all-in-ones, iPads and Android terminals.