Most small NZ businesses now run their POS on an iPad or Android tablet, often one they already own. A dedicated POS computer only earns its place if your system needs Windows or an Android terminal, or you want a built-in printer and a sealed unit for a hard-working counter. Before you buy anything, check your system's device list: some are iPad-only, and Shopify POS won't run on a computer at all.

Which devices each POS runs on

POSRuns onOffline mode
Lightspeed (Retail X-Series)Chrome or Firefox on Windows or Mac, plus an iPad app (iOS 17.5 or later to keep getting updates)Yes (Restaurant); Retail not published
Shopify POSiPad, iPhone and Android only. Not laptops, desktops or Amazon Fire tabletsYes
HikeiPad, Android ("bring your own device"), PC and Mac; also sells Android all-in-onesYes
LoyverseiPhone, iPad, Android phones and tablets, and Android POS terminals (Sunmi, iMin)Partial
LazygridiPad (iPadOS 17+), iPhone (iOS 17+), iMac (M1 or newer)Partial
BustleiPad only (iOS 15 or later); the back office runs in Chrome or Safari on any computerYes
TabiniPad, Android tablets and Windows terminals, mixed in one venueYes

Reviews: Read our Lightspeed review · Read our Shopify POS review · Read our Hike review · Read our Loyverse review · Read our Lazygrid review · Read our Bustle review · Read our Tabin review

iPad

The default choice. Every system above has an iPad or iOS app, and Bustle runs on nothing else ("Our till app will only work on the trusty Apple iPad"). Bustle says it works on every size from iPad mini to iPad Pro, but recommends a recent model if you run several tills, paperless dockets or integrated EFTPOS.

iPad setups usually connect printers over the network or Bluetooth, with the cash drawer plugged into the printer rather than the iPad. Bustle, for example, supports drawers that plug into its listed printers. See cash drawers and receipt printers.

Mount it properly. Lightspeed's NZ store sells a universal tablet stand for $199.00.

Android tablets and Android all-in-ones

Shopify POS, Hike, Loyverse and Tabin all run on Android. Shopify asks for Android 10 or later with Google Play Services today. Hike says you can install it on an Android phone or tablet you already have.

The interesting part is the Android all-in-one: a touch screen, computer and often a printer in one box.

  • Hike Register is an "all-in-one Android POS terminal" with a built-in receipt printer; Hike CounterTop adds a built-in customer display. Hike's NZ hardware page lists them at $1,508 AUD and $1,109 AUD: prices in Australian dollars, so ask Hike for the NZ price.
  • Loyverse lists Sunmi terminals (it can use their built-in printers), iMin devices, and the P2 Plus V190-A, a 15" Android terminal with a PCAP touch screen.

Windows and Mac

Only a few systems still want a proper computer at the counter:

  • Lightspeed Retail runs in the browser on Windows or Mac. Watch the small print: Lightspeed says Star printers aren't compatible with Windows IoT Enterprise setups.
  • Tabin runs on Windows terminals as well as iPad and Android.
  • Hike supports peripherals "on PC, Mac and iPad".
  • Lazygrid runs on an iMac (M1 or newer), which it pitches as a larger fixed station.

If you go this way, you'll need a touch screen or a mouse and keyboard. Our touch screen monitors guide covers the options.

All-in-one touch computers

Back in 2009 this site reviewed fanless all-in-one POS PCs from POS-X and Posiflex: a 15" touch screen with the computer built in, which could be VESA-mounted. The pitch was simple: no fan means no dust or kitchen grease sucked inside, and it runs quietly.

That idea still matters for Windows-based systems. Posiflex still sells into NZ: Tillman lists a Posiflex 15" all-in-one with Windows 11 installed, "recommended for Lightspeed X Series Vend POS on Windows 11", and describes it as solid state with "no fans to suck in dust". It takes Windows POS hardware such as a receipt printer, cash drawer and scanner.

For iPad and Android systems, the all-in-one role has moved to Android terminals like the Hike Register or Sunmi devices.

What it costs in NZ

DevicePriceWhere
Apple iPad 9th Gen$649.00 (NZD, GST not stated)Lightspeed NZ store
Universal stand for tablets$199.00 (NZD, GST not stated)Lightspeed NZ store
Posiflex 15" all-in-one, Windows 11$1,795.00 on sale, was $1,995.00 (GST not stated)Tillman
Hike Register (Android, built-in printer)$1,508 AUD (Australian dollars, as listed)Hike's NZ page, priced in AUD
Hike CounterTop (built-in display and printer)$1,109 AUD (Australian dollars, as listed)Hike's NZ page, priced in AUD

Prices read on 5 October 2026. Software is a separate monthly cost: compare it on /compare, and add hardware and fees together with the true cost calculator.

How old can your device be?

Every system sets a minimum, and they're rising.

  • Shopify POS: today, a 5th-generation iPad or newer (iPad Air gen 2+, iPad mini gen 4+) on iPadOS 15.1, an iPhone 7 or newer on iOS 15.1, or Android 10. From January 2027 it needs Android 13 or iOS 18, and devices on older versions "must be updated by June 6, 2027". After that, they can't use Shopify POS.
  • Lightspeed Retail: iOS 17.5 or later to keep receiving app updates.
  • Lazygrid: iPadOS 17 or iOS 17; an iMac needs an M1 chip or newer.
  • Bustle: at least iOS 15. Older iPads "may still work" but aren't recommended for multi-till, paperless or integrated-EFTPOS setups.

If you're buying a device for a new POS, buy one that comfortably clears the highest requirement on your shortlist, not just today's minimum.